

# **Government Gazette**

DARWIN

ISSN 1038 233X

11 February 2011

No. S8

# Electoral Act

## PUBLIC NOTICE

NORTHERN TERRITORY REDISTRIBUTION 2011

## REDISTRIBUTION COMMITTEE INVITATION FOR SUGGESTIONS RELATING TO REDISTRIBUTION

The Redistribution Committee, pursuant to section 141 of the *Electoral Act*, invites suggestions on the redistribution of the Territory into divisions under Part 8 of the *Act*. Section 140 of the *Act* states the following:

## 140 Matters to be considered in redistribution

- (1) For achieving the objects of a redistribution, the Redistribution Committee and Augmented Redistribution Committee must ensure each proposed division contains a number of electors not exceeding, or falling short of, the quota mentioned in section 13(4) of the *Self Government Act* by more than one fifth of the quota.
- (2) In addition, the Committees must give proper consideration to the following matters:
  - (a) community of interests in each proposed division, including economic, social and regional interests;
  - (b) types of communication and travel in each proposed division, with special reference to disabilities arising out of remoteness or distance;
  - (c) the trend of population changes in the Territory;
  - (d) the density of population in each proposed division;
  - (e) the area of each proposed division;
  - (f) the physical features of each proposed division;
  - (g) the existing boundaries of the following:
    - (i) divisions;
    - (ii) local government areas and wards under the *Local Government Act* and suburbs and towns;

- (iii) Divisions and Subdivisions under the Commonwealth Act;
- (iv) areas of Aboriginal Land Councils established by or under the Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976 of the Commonwealth;
- (v) regions under the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Act 1989 of the Commonwealth;
- (h) all suggestions and comments given under sections 141 and 142.

Suggestions must be given to the Committee in writing no later than close of business on **Monday 14 March 2011** and can be forwarded by:

#### POST/ HAND DELIVERY

Redistribution Committee 2nd Floor, AANT Building, 79 81 Smith Street, Darwin GPO Box 2419, DARWIN 0801

Redistribution Committee MyVote Central Suite 3, Yeperenye Centre Gregory Terrace, Alice Springs PO Box 2304, Alice Springs 0871



## OR E MAIL

ntec@nt.gov.au

For further information call (08) 8999 5617 or visit www.ntec.nt.gov.au

Dated 11th February, 2011.

B SHEPHEARD Chairperson Redistribution Committee