

Government Gazette

ISSN-0157-833X

No. S118

14 December 2016

Northern Territory of Australia Bushfires Management Act

Declaration of Vernon Arafura Fire Management Zone

- I, Lauren Jane Moss, Minister for Environment and Natural Resources:
- (a) under section 58 of the Bushfires Management Act and with reference to section 43 of the Interpretation Act, revoke the declaration of the Vernon Fire Management Zone and the Arafura Fire Management Zone; and
- (b) under section 58 of the *Bushfires Management Act*, declare the land described in the Schedule to be the Vernon Arafura Fire Management Zone.

Dated 13 December 2016

L. J. Moss Minister for Environment and Natural Resources

Schedule

All that area of land in the Darwin and Katherine Regions of the Northern Territory of Australia containing an area of 60 000 square kilometres more or less and bounded by lines described as follows:

Commencing at the intersection of the High Water Mark of Finke Bay and the centreline of the Wildman River; thence generally south-easterly by the said centreline to the northerly prolongation of the western boundary of NT Portion 4061; thence south to the southern bank of Wildman River, being a point on the boundary of Kakadu National Park; thence southerly by western boundaries of the said Park thence easterly to the most northern north-western corner of NT Portion 220; thence southerly then westerly by a western and a north-western boundary of said Portion and its prolongation to the centreline of the Mary River; thence generally south-easterly by said centreline to the northern boundary of NT Portion 4424; thence westerly by part of said boundary and part of a southern boundary of NT Portion 1631 to the north-eastern corner of NT Portion 710; thence southerly by the eastern boundary of the said Portion to its most south-eastern corner; thence westerly by a southern boundary of NT Portion 710 and its prolongation westerly to the northerly prolongation of an eastern boundary of NT Portion 1169 through NT Portion 5920; thence southerly by the said prolongation and boundary and its prolongation southerly to the most western north-western corner of NT Portion 2351; thence southerly by western boundaries of NT Portions 2351, 2352, 2353, 2354, 2355, 5001, 6615 and 1400 to the south-western corner of NT Portion 1400; thence westerly and southerly by part of a northern and part of the western boundary of NT Portion 1347 to the most northern north-eastern corner of NT Portion 1166; thence westerly by the northern boundaries of the said Portion and their prolongation westerly to the centreline of the Daly River; thence generally southerly by the Centrelines of the Daly River and Katherine River to the northern boundary of NT Portion 3981; thence westerly by part of the said boundary and northern boundaries of NT Portions 4175, 3982 and 5120 to the north-eastern corner of NT Portion 3685; thence southerly, westerly, again southerly, again westerly and

north-westerly by an eastern, a southern, an eastern, a southern and a south-western boundary of said Portion and its prolongation north-westerly to the centreline of the Fitzmaurice River; thence generally westerly by the said centreline to the High Water Mark of the Joseph Bonaparte Gulf; thence generally north-westerly, north-easterly, again north-westerly, north-easterly, again north-westerly, again north-easterly, again easterly by the said High Water Mark and the High Water Marks of the Joseph Bonaparte Gulf, Timor Sea, Anson Bay, Fog Bay, Port Paterson, Port Darwin, Shoal Bay, Adam Bay, Chambers Bay and Finke Bay to the point of commencement including all islands adjacent to the coastline described herein, and excluding therefrom, the Greater Darwin Emergency Response Area declared under the *Fire and Emergency Act* in *Gazette* No. G20 of 17 May 2006 and the Batchelor, Adelaide River and Pine Creek Emergency Response Areas declared under the *Fire Service Act* (repealed) in *Gazette* No. G29 of 25 July 1990.