## SUPPLEMENTARY GAZETTE



# THE SOUTH AUSTRALIAN

# **GOVERNMENT GAZETTE**

www.governmentgazette.sa.gov.au

#### PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

ALL PUBLIC ACTS appearing in this GAZETTE are to be considered official, and obeyed as such

### ADELAIDE, WEDNESDAY, 19 OCTOBER 2011

DEVELOPMENT ACT 1993, SECTION 28 (1): DECLARATION OF INTERIM OPERATION OF STATEWIDE WIND FARMS DEVELOPMENT PLAN AMENDMENT

Notice by the Minister

PURSUANT to Section 28 (1) of the Development Act 1993, I, the Honorable John Rau, Minister for Urban Development, Planning and the City of Adelaide, am of the opinion that it is necessary in the interest of the orderly and proper development of the area affected by the 'Statewide Wind Farms Development Plan Amendment' that the Development Plan Amendment should come into operation without delay.

I declare that the Development Plan Amendment will come into operation on an interim basis on the day in which this notice is published.

Dated 18 October 2011.

JOHN RAU, Deputy Premier, Minister for Urban Development, Planning and the City of Adelaide

#### **DEVELOPMENT ACT 1993**

STATEWIDE WIND FARMS DEVELOPMENT PLAN AMENDMENT

Prepared by the Minister—for Public Consultation

NOTICE is hereby given that the Minister for Urban Development, Planning and the City of Adelaide, pursuant to Sections 24 and 26 of the Development Act 1993, has prepared a Statewide Wind Farms Development Plan Amendment (DPA) to amend the following Development Plans:

Greater Metropolitan Adelaide (12 Affected Development Plans):

Adelaide Hills Council Alexandrina Council The Barossa Council

Gawler Council

Land not within a Council Area—Metropolitan

Light Regional Council

Mallala Council

Mount Barker Council

Onkaparinga Council

Playford Council Victor Harbour

Yankalilla Council

Regional SA (44 Affected Development Plans):

Barunga West Council

Berri Barmera Council

Ceduna Council

Clare and Gilbert Valleys Council

Cleve Council

Coober Pedy Council

The Coorong District Council

Copper Coast Council

Elliston Council

Flinders Ranges Council

Franklin Harbour Council

Goyder Council

Grant Council

Kangaroo Island Council

Karoonda East Murray Council

Kimba Council

Kingston District Council

Land not within a Council Area—Coastal Waters

Land not within a Council Area—Eyre, Far North, Riverland and Whyalla

Land Not within a Council Area—Flinders

Lower Eyre Peninsula Council

Loxton Waikerie Council

Mid Murray Council

Mount Remarkable Council

Murray Bridge Council

Naracoorte Lucindale Council Northern Areas Council Orroroo Carrieton Council Peterborough Council Port Augusta Council Port Lincoln Council Port Pirie Council Renmark Paringa Council Robe Council Roxby Downs Council Southern Mallee Council Streaky Bay Council Tatiara Council Tumby Bay Council Wakefield Regional Council Wattle Range Council Whyalla Council Wudinna Council Yorke Peninsula Council

The DPA is proposing to amend current policies at the councilwide level in relation to renewable energy facilities, in particular wind farms. It is also introducing both new and amended policies for wind farms and ancillary development, at the council-wide level and in certain zones where such facilities are best located to take advantage of the natural resource (wind) upon which they rely.

The policies in the DPA are aimed at providing greater clarity for the development of wind farm facilities by recognising them as an envisaged form of development in some zones. The policy will recognise that wind farms may need to be located in prominent locations to take advantage of the wind required for effective operations.

The DPA will be on public consultation from 19 October 2011 to 13 December 2011.

Copies of the DPA are available during normal office hours at the Department of Planning and Local Government, Level 5, 136 North Terrace, Adelaide (telephone: (08) 8303 0791) and the following locations:

- Naracoorte Lucindale Council, Degaris Place, Naracoorte, (telephone: (08) 8760 1100);
- City of Port Lincoln, Level One, Civic Centre, 60 Tasman Terrace, Port Lincoln (telephone: (08) 8621 2300); and
- District Council of Peterborough, 108 Main Street, Peterborough (telephone: (08) 8651 3566).

The DPA can also be viewed on the Internet at  $\underline{www.sa.gov.au/planning/dpas}.$ 

Written submissions regarding the DPA should be submitted no later than 5 p.m. on 13 December 2011. Submissions should be addressed to:

The Presiding Member, Development Policy Advisory Committee Statewide Wind Farms Development Plan Amendment:

- c/o Department of Planning and Local Government;
- Post: G.P.O. Box 1815, Adelaide, S.A. 5001; and
- Email: dpac@sa.gov.au.

Your submission should clearly indicate whether you wish to be heard at the public meeting.

Copies of all public submissions will be available for inspection by interested persons at the Department of Planning and Local Government, Level 5, 136 North Terrace, from 14 December 2011 until the conclusion of the public meetings, and will also be available for viewing on the Department of Planning and Local Government website.

Public meetings will be held at the following locations, at which time interested persons may appear to be heard in relation to the DPA and the submissions:

- 7 p.m. on Tuesday, 10 January 2012—Port Lincoln Ballroom, 1 Lincoln Highway, Port Lincoln;
- 7 p.m. on Tuesday, 17 January 2012—Glen Roy Room, Mercure Grosvenor, 125 North Terrace, Adelaide;
- 7 p.m. on Tuesday, 24 January 2012—Naracoorte Town Hall, 95 Smith Street, Naracoorte; and
- 7 p.m. on Thursday, 2 February 2012—Peterborough Town Hall, 108 Main Street, Peterborough.

The public meeting may not be held if no submissions are received or if no-one requests to be heard. Please check the Department of Planning and Local Government's website before the scheduled date of the meeting to find out whether it is being held

If you would like more information about the DPA, please contact Denise Rigoni on telephone number 8303 0816 or via email at <a href="mailto:Denise.Rigoni@sa.gov.au">Denise.Rigoni@sa.gov.au</a>.

Dated 19 October 2011.

SHARON UNDERWOOD, Secretary, Development Policy Advisory Committee